Gonçalo M. Tavares

Let me tell you about one of the greatest writers of our time.

I blogged about Gonçalo M. Tavares’ novel Jerusalem a couple of years ago, describing Tavares as “peerless”.  An over the top description maybe, but having read one of his books, I was of the opinion that I’d finally encountered the perfect novel.  I’ve now read all four of the books in his “Kingdom” cycle – a loosely connected series exploring similar themes – and remain convinced that Tavares is a writer like no other.

These four books can be read in any order.  For me, Jerusalem makes a great starting point as it’s gripping enough to hook you straight onto the others.  The ultimate Tavares novel is Learning to Pray in the Age of Technique, described by the publisher Dalkey Archive as “another chilling investigation into the limits of human experience, mapping the creation and then disintegration of a man we might call “evil,” and showing us how he must learn to adapt in a world he can no longer dominate.”

15647100152740L

15647100220400L

15647100216330L

klumpCover_finalCovers-194x300

 

 

 

Published by

Frank Burton

I'm a fiction writer, and founder of the non-profit online publisher, Philistine Press. I'm the author of the short story collection, A History of Sarcasm (Dog Horn 2009). My short story, The World, was featured on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Reading. My novel, The Prodigals, can be downloaded for free at www.philistinepress.com.

Leave a Reply

